Precast concrete for Urban Search and Rescue training

We spent Thanksgiving with two sons and their families. I also visited a nearby young cousin who I am fond of and who is a firefighter.  We were talking about training and somehow precast concrete came up. Some years back I had a consulting gig in which my assignment was to procure a variety of precast pieces to construct a rubble simulation. This was for a large multi-municipality first-responder training facility.  I offered to write up and send my cousin a primer on obtaining free or ultra-low-cost precast concrete for training exercises. I started it and of course it turned out to be more than the simple 10-minute task I had initially Urban search and rescue precast envisioned, mainly because there are so many different types of precast.  I worked on it a bit and made it presentable and then figured that it can be useful to many departments. So here it is, for the use of any fire department involved in training exercises that need or can use precast concrete.

(You may have to click on the link below and then again on a similar link. You should end up with a pdf that you can view or print.  It’s set up for printing on 11×14 paper.)

Urban search and rescue precast

About Leo Schlosberg

Graybeard with experience in commercial construction and IT, and an interest in information flow and process. Aware and respectful of the enormous complexity, technical, legal, and other, embedded in every structure that is part of the built environment.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.